Random Thoughts on Human-centric World Improvement

We humans (not you and me but all the others ofcourse) all practice lateral or  “deep” thinking from time to time. When practicing lateral thinking, we might sometimes even get inspirational thoughts like Einstein (“The world as we have created it is a process of our thinking. It cannot be changed without changing our thinking”), Madadiy (“I just dont know how…to think less. If you know how, then teach me…”) or De Bono (“Most people are more comfortable with old problems than with new solutions”). But ofcourse thinking lateral sometimes does not automatically make us Einsteins, Madadiy’s or De Bono’s. And that’s not important too. What’s important, is if the results of our lateral thinking find it’s way into society so that it might add value somewhere.

For example, some time ago I was ‘laterally thinking’ about two essential themes: Integration and Interoperability. And then some time later I accidentaly stumbled upon a picture of a large fish being hunted by several smaller fishes. When I saw the picture, I could connect these themes. And one might say, my ‘lateral thinking’ product was born out of graphic inspiration. So I titled my lateral thought “Interoperability eats Integration“.

In this specific thought I envision the smaller fish as the symbol for integration. This tightly integrated specimen seems to have been developed on the paradigm to integrate as much as possible into one large ecosystem, with no self organizing capabilities (centralized organisation of the integrated actions).

I envision the smaller fishes as the symbol for interoperability. The smaller fishes seem to have been developed on the paradigm to integrate as much as possible into one large ecosystem, but with one difference: they kept their autonomy and self organize there actions into a (beautiful) coherent total, like swarms. So now you can see how and why I created my ‘lateral thought’ Interoperability eats Integration. Happy Deep Thinking!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 49 other followers

