looking-inside-my-head-1We all like to gather facts so that we can feed these to our illusion of thinking we know the reality. That’s why we in general don’t like people’s opinions because these are not facts. But what is a fact anyway? Is it what you think it is? Or is it what I think it is? Or is it what we both think it is? And suppose you decide to consider someone’s shared thoughts to be a fact, it still is by far nothing compared to that persons thoughts. Because that person might share an opinion with you which is based on very beautiful, delicate, complicated thoughts which you will never be able to comprehend by only listening to or looking at the audible or hearable (shared) subsets of those thoughts. Marcus Aurelius has a nice way to describe this phenomenon: “If someone is able to show me that what I think or do is not right, I will happily change, for I seek the truth, by which no one was ever truly harmed. It is the person who continues in his self-deception and ignorance who is harmed.”. So don’t try to unlock someone’s mind in order to find out facts that can feed your own truth.  Because your truth is yours only. And try taking into account these wise words of Don Miguel Ruiz: “What others say and do is a projection of their own reality, their own dream. When you are immune to the opinions of others, you won’t be the victim of needless suffering.” Good luck in discovering your own reality.looking-inside-my-head-2 And even more lock in combining your own reality with that of the world you live in, trying to make it better than it was.

Comments on: "Another Person’s Opinion Might Be Much More Than Just A Projection Of Their Own Perceived Reality" (1)

  1. Erik Andrulis said:

    “If someone is able to show me that what I think or do is not right, I will happily change, for I seek the truth, by which no one was ever truly harmed. It is the person who continues in his self-deception and ignorance who is harmed.”

    One of my favorite Aurelius quotes.

    When I proved that I am the Truth – that is, I am all truths and all falsehoods, I knew who and what I was. And, by the way, I was wrong when I claimed that truth never harmed anyone. The Truth is *extremely* harmful because it shatters and subsumes All assumptions, worldviews, and opinions. Indeed, I *am* All of those assumptions, worldviews, and opinions, so I know how much I cherish maintaining them.

    Like

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

